Mícheál Ó Cléirigh Summer School
12th – 14th May 2017, Franciscan Friary Campus, Rossnowlagh
More information on: mocleirigh.ie
Echoing the scenes in Europe today, the Irish people migrated in their thousands from the island in the 16thto the 18th centuries. They left because their land had been taken by planters and the Gaelic Order in which their society was organised had broken down. The Flight of the Earls in 1607 was one of the last acts in this great drama and one of the people who left Donegal at that time was Mícheál Ó Cléirigh, principal of the four Masters. The final entry in the Annals of the Four Masters, which Ó Cléirigh managed and scripted with three others, was in 1616.
Dates have been announced for the 2017 Mícheál Ó Cléirigh Summer School which will be held in the Friary Hall in Rossnowlagh Co Donegal on the weekend of Friday the 12th May to Sunday 14th May.
The theme of the School will be “Europe: Donegal’s Influence 1617 to 2017”.
Although permission had been granted by Papal Bull in 1607, it was not until ten years later that the foundation stone for St Anthony’s College in Louvain (Leuven) was laid by the Archduke Albert and his wife the Duchess Isabella in 1617.
This and other events was to lead ultimately to Mícheál Uí Cléirigh being sent back to Ireland to gather information on the lives of the Irish saints and then later leading to the monumental work of the Annála Riochta na hEreann in 1636.
The theme this year will explore the European connections of language, culture and identity over the last 400 years.
The Summer School is a co-operative event between the Local community, Mícheál Uí Cléirigh Institute, UCD and the Franciscan Community in Rossnowlagh.
T: +353 (0)87 444 5848
Facebook: Micheal O Cleirigh School